Best's Cellar Door
THE STABLES GREAT WESTERN
Built in 1866, the Concongella Cellar Door is the heart of Best’s Wines’ operation. Also known as The Stables, it’s a memorable place to visit. The old red gum slab tasting room is housed in the original stables and showcases old winery equipment, maps of the area, as well as Henry Best’s original journal dating from 1866. Visitors can take a tour of the 1860s cellars, which were hand dug by miners, and the original Nursery Block plantings, both of which represent a significant piece of Australian wine history.
Wines for tasting and sale include Best’s current range of wines as well as limited-release wines available through cellar door only. Rare and old vintages are often on display and, at times, releases of back vintages are available for purchase.
The cellar door is open Monday to Saturday and public holidays from 10am to 5pm, and Sunday from 11am to 4pm (closed Christmas Day). Winery tours can be organised in advance and bus tours can be accommodated by prior arrangement. For further information, phone 03 5356 2250, or email email@example.com.
While visiting our Cellar Door, we invite you to explore our historic cellars in the Concongella Cellar Walk – the home of our Best Kept Secrets. Discover the underground section of our cellars that was renovated in the 1940s for white wine maturation and bottling. Continue through the hand-dug tunnels into the original underground cellars – a truly amazing and magical experience. Uncover for yourself why this winery holds such a memorable and nostalgic place in the history of Australia’s wine industry.